Five Division III Players In Running for Hockey Humanitarian

Compiled by Staff

MINNEAPOLIS - The list of nominees has been announced for the 2018 edition of the Hockey Humanitarian Award, and five Division III players are in contention as of the announcement made earlier this week.  The award, presented by the Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation, honors the college hockey student-athlete who the Foundation views as "College Hockey's Finest Citizen." The Foundation explains further on the award's website that the distinction is earned by "a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team but also to the community-at-large through leadership in volunteerism." 

Since the award's creation in 2001, three Division III players have been bestowed the top honors, with the latest coming in 2008. That year, William Bruce of Williams College took home the award in a field that also featured five Division III nominations. Buffalo State's Rocky Reeves was the award winner in 2002, and RIT goaltender Kristine Pierce was the recipient in 1999 before the Tigers turned to Division I over a decade later. The 2017 award did not go to a Division III player, but notably went to a pair of players from Division II St. Michael's. Danny Divis and Justin Mckenzie took home the award for their charitable work relating to mental health awareness on college campuses and among student athletes. St. Anselm's Tucker Mullin was another recent winner in 2013 for his work aiding individuals living with paralysis. 

This year's Division III nominees are as follows:

SR - Ryan Mulder, Castleton, Goaltender
Grad. - Mikhail Bushinski, Utica, Forward
JR - Luke Rivera, Fredonia, Forward
SR - Jared Pilet, Concordia-Wisconsin, Defense
SR - Camil Blanchet, Bowdoin, Forward

A shorter list of finalists will be released in February, and the award will be presented at the upcoming NCAA Division I Men's Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minnesota on Friday, April 6th. 

No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.